FY 2018 List of Certification and Assurance Submissions for Audit Year 1 of Cycle 2 August 20, 2016 – August 19, 2917

On September 12, 2017, the Office of Justice Programs (OJP) Acting Assistant Attorney General (AAAG) sent letters to the nation's state and territorial governors and the Mayor of the District of Columbia on behalf of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) explaining their FY 2018 PREA-related options.¹ State administering authorities for OJP grant programs and governors' criminal justice policy advisors were copied on this letter. The deadline for certifications and assurances for Audit Year 1 of Cycle 2, which impact FY 2018 grant funds, was October 16, 2017.

The Justice for All Reauthorization Act of 2016, which includes an amendment to the PREA statute, was enacted on December 16, 2016. This change to the PREA statute provides a second option regarding impacts to DOJ grant funds for states that are not able to certify full compliance with the National PREA Standards. For three years following the date of enactment, governors have the option to choose whether affected grant funds are reallocated to the state to use for PREA compliance purposes or are held in abeyance by DOJ pending future action by the state. *See* 42 U.S.C. § 15607(e)(2)(E).²

States that certified full compliance (16)			
Alabama	Minnesota	Oregon	
Arizona	Missouri	Vermont	
Delaware	Nevada	Virginia	
Georgia	New Hampshire	Wyoming	
Illinois	New Jersey		
Iowa	North Dakota		

Below is a list of states and territories that submitted certifications and assurances for Audit Year 1 of the second three-year PREA audit cycle.

¹ A PREA amendment under the Justice for All Reauthorization Act of 2016 was enacted on December 16, 2016, which exempts grant programs administered by OVW. Therefore, beginning in FY 2017, only OJP grant programs are impacted by PREA.

² Additional information regarding the PREA amendment under the Justice for All Reauthorization Act of 2016 can be found here: <u>https://bja.ojp.gov/sites/g/files/xyckuh186/files/media/document/jfara-fact-sheet_updated-2017.03.01.pdf</u>

States and territories that submitted an assurance (36), plus the District of Columbia (37)				
Alaska	Louisiana	Pennsylvania		
American Samoa	Maine*	Puerto Rico		
California	Maryland	Rhode Island		
Colorado	Massachusetts	South Carolina		
Connecticut	Michigan	South Dakota*		
District of Columbia	Mississippi	Tennessee*		
Florida	Montana	Texas*		
Guam	Nebraska	U.S. Virgin Islands		
Hawaii	New Mexico*	Washington		
Idaho	New York	West Virginia		
Indiana	North Carolina	Wisconsin		
Kansas	Ohio			
Kentucky*	Oklahoma*			

States and territories subject to a five percent reduction in certain department grant funding after declining to provide an affirmation or certification of compliance (3) Arkansas Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Utah

* These states have chosen to have impacted DOJ funds held in abeyance pending future action by the state.