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An act to add Section 6254.31 to the Government Code, relating to
public records.

legislative counsel’s digest

AB 1957, as amended, Quirk. Public records: body-worn cameras.
The California Public Records Act requires that public records be

open to inspection at all times during the office hours of a state or local
agency and that every person has a right to inspect any public record,
except as specifically provided. The act further requires that a reasonably
segregable portion of a public record be available for inspection by any
person requesting the public record after deletion of the portions that
are exempted by law. Existing law exempts from the disclosure
requirements records of complaints to, or investigations conducted by,
or records of intelligence information or security procedures of, law
enforcement agencies, including the Attorney General and state or local
police agencies.

This bill would impose a state-mandated local program by requiring
require the governing board of the law enforcement agency, in closed
session, to review the footage from a body-worn camera when an officer
is involved in an incident that results in great bodily harm or death.
The bill would require the judge, if there is an indictment after an
investigation, to determine the protocol for release of the footage from
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a body-worn camera. The bill would require a state or local law
enforcement agency to make available, upon request, footage from a
law enforcement body-worn camera 60 days after the commencement
of an investigation into misconduct that uses or involves that footage.
The bill would also prohibit the public release of footage that relates
to crimes of domestic violence or crimes that include minors or that
includes statements of a witness at the scene of a crime.

The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local
agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.
Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that reimbursement.

This bill would provide that no reimbursement is required by this act
for a specified reason.

By increasing the duties of local law enforcement, this bill would
impose a state-mandated local program.

The California Constitution requires the state to reimburse local
agencies and school districts for certain costs mandated by the state.
Statutory provisions establish procedures for making that
reimbursement.

This bill would provide that with regard to certain mandates no
reimbursement is required by this act for a specified reason.

With regard to any other mandates, this bill would provide that, if
the Commission on State Mandates determines that the bill contains
costs so mandated by the state, reimbursement for those costs shall be
made pursuant to the statutory provisions noted above.

Vote:   majority.   Appropriation:   no.  Fiscal committee:   yes.

State-mandated local program:   yes.

The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

 line 1 SECTION 1. Section 6254.31 is added to the Government
 line 2 Code, to read:
 line 3 6254.31. Notwithstanding (a)  Before the end of the business
 line 4 day following the date on which the incident occurs, the governing
 line 5 body of the law enforcement agency, in closed session, shall review
 line 6 the footage from a body-worn camera when the officer is involved
 line 7 in an incident that results in great bodily harm or death.
 line 8 (b)  If, after reviewing the footage as required in subdivision
 line 9 (a), there is an investigation that leads to an indictment, the judge

 line 10 shall review the body-worn camera footage and determine the
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 line 1 release protocol, including, but not limited to, whether the footage
 line 2 is released, to whom, and if redaction is required.
 line 3 (c)  Except as provided in subdivision (d), notwithstanding
 line 4 Section 6254, a state or local law enforcement agency shall make
 line 5 available, upon request pursuant to this chapter, footage from a
 line 6 law enforcement body-worn camera 60 days after the
 line 7 commencement of an investigation into misconduct that uses or
 line 8 involves that footage.
 line 9 (d)  Footage of body-worn cameras that relates to crimes of

 line 10 domestic violence or crimes that include minors or that includes
 line 11 statements of a witness at the scene of a crime shall not be released
 line 12 for public viewing.
 line 13 SEC. 2. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
 line 14 Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution because
 line 15 the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school
 line 16 district under this act would result from a legislative mandate that
 line 17 is within the scope of paragraph (7) of subdivision (b) of Section
 line 18 3 of Article I of the California Constitution.
 line 19 SEC. 2. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to
 line 20 Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution for certain
 line 21 costs because, in that regard, the only costs that may be incurred
 line 22 by a local agency or school district under this act would result
 line 23 from a legislative mandate that is within the scope of paragraph
 line 24 (7) of subdivision (b) of Section 3 of Article I of the California
 line 25 Constitution.
 line 26 However, if the Commission on State Mandates determines that
 line 27 this act contains other costs mandated by the state, reimbursement
 line 28 to local agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made
 line 29 pursuant to Part 7 (commencing with Section 17500) of Division
 line 30 4 of Title 2 of the Government Code.
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