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SB158 has two primary objectives

• To establish statewide policy and guidelines on the use of body-

worn cameras by law enforcement

• To provide funding assistance to help law enforcement agencies 

with the resources needed to operate a body-worn camera program 

SB 158 on Body-Worn Cameras 



SB158 –

• voted out of Senate Committee – 4-3

• passed the full Senate – 22-8

• voted out House Committee – 5-0 (2 abs.)

• passed the House of Representatives – 135-4

Signed into law by Gov. Abbott on June 19, 2015 (Juneteenth)
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Stakeholder workgroup formed -

• Law enforcement – Chiefs Association, management, labor

• Prosecutors, Defense Attorneys 

• Municipal Associations, County Associations, cities, county officials

• Department of Public Safety

• State Agencies 

• Legislators 

• Leadership

• Advocacy groups 
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Press conference at Dallas Police Headquarters 
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Dallas Chief of Police - David Brown 



SB158 addresses issues regarding:

• Funding/cost

• Training

• Officer's Rights

• Local policy 

• Records retention/data management 

• Use of personal equipment

• Open Records/release of information

• Privacy 
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A Comprehensive Approach



SB158 applies to ---

• Officers employed by city police and county sheriff’s 
departments that perform traffic or patrol duties and 
provide primary response to calls for assistance from the 
public

• A law enforcement agency that operates a body-worn 
camera program 
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Statute allows police and sheriff's departments to apply to the 

Governor's Office for a grant to defray the costs of implementing 

a body camera program. Applicants are required to provide a 25 %   

fund match. 

Statute provides that a law enforcement agency may enter into an 

agreement with the Texas Department of Information resources to 

leverage the state's purchasing power for equipment purchases and 

for data management services. 

- Texas appropriated $10 million for SB158.

- The Governor's office dedicated up to $2 million in JAG funds. 
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Funding Assistance 



A policy for the operation of a body-worn camera program 

implemented by a law enforcement agency must contain each   

of the following components:

- Guidelines for when a camera should be activated or when a 

recording should be discontinued 

- Provisions for data retention that include a minimum 90-day 

retention period 

- Policy on data storage, backup capabilities and data security 
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Policy Considerations 



An agency’s policy must also contain:

- Guidelines for public access based on Texas’ Open Records laws

- Provisions to allow an officer to view the recording of an incident 

prior to submitting a statement about the incident to the department

- Procedures for internal review

- Procedures for handling of the equipment and addressing equipment 

malfunctions 
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SB158 requires a law enforcement agency that 

operates a body-worn camera program to provide 

training to officers and any other personnel who will 

come in contact with recordings obtained by use of a 

body-worn camera. 
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Training 



The training curriculum will be developed jointly by a 

group that includes:  

- Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Education

- Texas Dept. of Public Safety

- Texas Police Chiefs Association

- Bill Blackwood Law Enforcement Management Institute 

- W.W. Caruth Police Institute
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SB158 bans the use of body-camera equipment that is not 

issued by the department, if the department has received state 

grant funding. 

However - an officer employed by an agency that has not 

received grant funding, or by an agency that has not issued 

body camera equipment, may use privately-owned equipment.  

Law requires the agency to ensure equipment security and 

compatibility. 
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Use of privately-owned equipment



SB158 allows local department policy to determine 
when an officer activates the body-worn camera.

• If an officer fails to activate a body-worn camera or 
discontinues a recording, the reason must be included       
in the incident report. 

• Bill allows officer discretion regarding the recording 
of a witness or victim and during non-confrontational 
encounters with the public.
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Recording interactions with the Public



Recordings made by a body-worn camera that involved 
the use of deadly force, or of an incident that is under 
investigation, may not be destroyed or released to the 
public until the investigation is complete.

• However, a department may release the recording if it 
serves a law enforcement purpose. 

• The release of information by an officer of other 
employee of an agency without the consent of the 
agency is Class A Misdemeanor.
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Recordings as Evidence



The requirements for the release of recorded information are 
based on Texas’ Open Records laws. Generally, materials that 
are part of an investigation are released at the agency's or 
prosecutor's  discretion. 

SB158 –
- Sets requirements on how a request must be submitted

- Defines a “private space” which says certain recorded information that 
does not result in arrest cannot be released without consent of the 
subject

- Requires the Attorney General to establish a fee that can be charged to 
the requestor to obtain recorded materials. 
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SB158 defines what constitutes a voluminous request. The law 

allows an agency up to 21 days to comply with the request. The 

process for an Open Records request also applies.

A voluminous request is:

• A request for more than 5 separate incidents

• More than 5 requests from the same person within 

24 hours

• Requests from the same person within 24 hours 

that combined, totals more than 5 hours of footage 
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Open Records -"Voluminous" requests
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DeSoto Chief of Police - Joseph Costa 



For more information, please contact the office of :

Texas State Senator Royce West 

5787 S. Hampton Rd., Suite 385

Dallas, Texas 75232

(214)467-0123 (tel)

(214)467-0050 (fax)


