U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

The Northwest Missouri Interagency Team Response Operation (NITRO)

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)
Original Solicitation

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2010, $200,000)

The Congressionally Recommended Awards Program, authorized by the Department of Justice Appropriations Act, 2010 (Pub. L. 111-117), helps improve the functioning of the criminal justice system, prevent or combat juvenile delinquency, and/or assist victims of crime (other than compensation). Funds should be used for the projects recommended by Congress, in the amounts specified in the joint explanatory statement incorporated by reference into Pub. L. 111-117, and generally consistent with one or more of the following statutory purposes: improving the functioning of the criminal justice system, preventing or combating juvenile delinquency, or assisting victims of crime (other than compensation). Each of these purposes is framed using language drawn, respectively, from the former Byrne discretionary statute, the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act, the Victims of Crime Act, and the Violence Against Women Act. This project is authorized and funded through a line item in the FY 2010 Congressional Budget and by the joint explanatory statement that is incorporated by reference into the FY2010 Department of Justice Appropriations Act.

The Northwest Missouri Interagency Team Response Operation (NITRO) is a multi-jurisdictional task force designed to battle the drug and violent crime problems of Northwest Missouri. The main focus of NITRO is on the mid to upper level drug dealers that are operating in or affecting Northwest Missouri. The Task Force has a Board of Directors, a Task Force Coordinator, Task Force Administrator, with a total of six Task Force officers. NITRO works under the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives guidelines. NITRO'S main area of operation is the sixteen counties of Northwest Missouri. The counties include Andrew, Atchison, Caldwell, Clinton, Daviess, Dekalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Sullivan, and Worth.


Date Created: August 29, 2010