U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

FY 2010 JAG

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2010, $18,476)

The Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program (JAG) allows states and units of local government, including tribes, to support a broad range of activities to prevent and control crime based on their own state and local needs and conditions. Grant funds can be used for state and local initiatives, technical assistance, training, personnel, equipment, supplies, contractual support, and information systems for criminal justice, including for any one or more of the following purpose areas: 1) law enforcement programs; 2) prosecution and court programs; 3) prevention and education programs; 4) corrections and community corrections programs; 5) drug treatment and enforcement programs; 6) planning, evaluation, and technology improvement programs; and 7) crime victim and witness programs (other than compensation).

The city of San Marcos will use the FY 2010 Bureau of Justice Assistance JAG funds to purchase law enforcement equipment. The Police Department will use grant funds to purchase an e-Citation hand held ticket writer, related software, and peripheral equipment. The hand held ticket writer will enable law enforcement to prevent, reduce, and solve crime in the community. The e-Citation ticket writers will enable law enforcement to collect, maintain, report, and analyze crime. Law enforcement will have the ability to scan driver's licenses and VIN numbers, electronically record and upload citations, and picture/sound recordings into a searchable database on a daily basis. The ticket writers will increase law enforcement's efficiency and eliminate the need for manual writing and transcription, increase the speed of obtaining searchable data, and allow municipal court staff the ability to focus and clear cases.


Date Created: September 2, 2010