U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Annual Governors' Prison Rape Elimination Act Certification and Assurance Submission

NCJ Number
Date Published
November 2022
5 pages
Publication Series

This fact sheet describes the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) goals and describes requirements for states’ certification and assurances of PREA compliance.


This fact sheet provides an overview of the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) certification or assurance submission process, and provides a list of resources for more information and PREA Frequently Asked Questions. PREA Standards covers five types of facilities: prisons and jails, lockups, community confinement, and juvenile facilities The fact sheet notes that all states and the District of Columbia have the option of submitting a certification that all confinement facilities under their operational control are in full compliance with the National Standards to Prevent, Detect, and Respond to Prison Rape (Standards), or to issue an assurance that they will use not less than five percent of Department of Justice (DOJ) grant funds to come into full compliance with the Standards in the future.

Date Published: November 1, 2022