U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Program Overview: Law Enforcement-Mental Health Learning Sites

NCJ Number
Date Published
December 2021
2 pages

After describing the features of the Law Enforcement-Mental Health Learning site program, this report presents summary statements of how this program is being implemented in each of 14 jurisdictions available to provide technical assistance to other jurisdictions across the country.


The Council of State Governments (CSG) Justice Center, with support from the U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA), established the Law Enforcement-Mental Health Learning Site program in 2010 to connect public-safety personnel with peers who have successfully planned and implemented innovative response models for improving outcomes of encounters between law enforcement and persons with mental health conditions. The program is composed of sheriffs’ offices, metropolitan police departments, rural justice and mental health coalitions, and university police departments that provide a broad range of expertise and learning opportunities to assist other law enforcement agencies in developing collaborative responses to persons with mental health disorders. The 14 learning sites whose resources are briefly described have successfully planned and implemented innovative response models that include co-responder teams composed of law enforcement and mental-health service professionals, diversion programs to treatment, crisis stabilization units, and homeless outreach teams. The learning sites are able and willing to help other jurisdictions develop and improve such programs in other jurisdictions. Each site has firsthand experience and expertise in developing such local programming. Since 2020, the Law Enforcement Mental Health Learning Sites have responded to just over 500 requests for assistance from 38 states in developing such programs tailored to individual community needs and resources. The program features of each of the 14 learning sites are briefly described to assist other jurisdictions seeking assistance in deciding which sites might be most appropriate in providing the assistance needed.

Date Published: December 1, 2021