U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Support Law Enforcement Initiatives

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2010, $69,257)

The Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program (JAG) allows states and units of local government, including tribes, to support a broad range of activities to prevent and control crime based on their own state and local needs and conditions. Grant funds can be used for state and local initiatives, technical assistance, training, personnel, equipment, supplies, contractual support, and information systems for criminal justice, including for any one or more of the following purpose areas: 1) law enforcement programs; 2) prosecution and court programs; 3) prevention and education programs; 4) corrections and community corrections programs; 5) drug treatment and enforcement programs; 6) planning, evaluation, and technology improvement programs; and 7) crime victim and witness programs (other than compensation).

The city of Abilene and Taylor County are listed as disparate jurisdictions under the FY 2010 JAG Local Program. The city of Abilene will serve as the fiscal agent to administer funds for both jurisdicions. JAG funds will be used to procure law enforcement equipment for the city of Abilene Police Department and Taylor County Sheriff's Department.

The Abilene Police Department will utilize its portion of funds to replace the Mobile Video Recorders (MVR's) and operating systems currently in use in the department's patrol fleet. The current MVR's are no longer able to be repaired.

The Taylor County Sheriff's Department intends to utilize its portion of JAG funds to purchase five additional MVR's and Gigatek Card Readers for its patrol fleet. The card readers would allow deputies to swipe citizens' identification cards, placing the information onto the recorded data from the MVR's.


Date Created: September 9, 2010