U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Enhanced Law Enforcement Projects

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2010, $46,831)

The Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program (JAG) allows states and units of local government, including tribes, to support a broad range of activities to prevent and control crime based on their own state and local needs and conditions. Grant funds can be used for state and local initiatives, technical assistance, training, personnel, equipment, supplies, contractual support, and information systems for criminal justice, including for any one or more of the following purpose areas: 1) law enforcement programs; 2) prosecution and court programs; 3) prevention and education programs; 4) corrections and community corrections programs; 5) drug treatment and enforcement programs; 6) planning, evaluation, and technology improvement programs; and 7) crime victim and witness programs (other than compensation).

The disparate jurisdictions consisting of the city of Muskogee and Muskogee County will use their JAG award in the amount of $46,831 to purchase tasers, new firearms, radio headsets, spike strips and digital cameras. The tasers will provide a less-than-lethal alternative for Muskogee Police Department officers who pursue violent criminals. Outdated handguns will be replaced as well. The spike strips will be employed when officers are engaged in vehicle pursuits and this equipment will increase safety for both officers and the public. The Muskogee Police Department Special Operations Team will benefit from the improved communication afforded by the new radio headsets. Lastly the department will issue digital cameras to crime scene investigators and patrol officers who will document evidence and suspected gang members. The city of Muskogee will serve as the fiscal agent for this award.


Date Created: August 26, 2010