U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Nominations Sought for the Attorney General's Award for Distinguished Service in Policing

The Department of Justice is now seeking nominations for the fourth annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing.

The Attorney General’s Award recognizes individual state, local or tribal sworn, rank-and-file police officers and deputies for exceptional efforts in community policing. Those awarded will have demonstrated active engagement with the community in one of three areas: criminal investigations, field operations, or innovations in policing.

View the press release and visit the award webpage to learn more about this award and how to submit a nomination. Nominations must be submitted by 8 p.m. ET on June 1, 2020.

Date Modified: April 21, 2020
Nomination deadline changed from April 24, 2020, to June 1, 2020.
Date Created: March 25, 2020