U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal Alex Neville, Deputy U.S. Marshals Philip Efaw, Wesley Frederick, John Hare III, Paul Hickman and Joseph Nichols, and fallen Deputy U.S. Marshal Derek Hotsinpiller

U.S. Marshals Service

On February 16, 2011, the U.S. Marshals Service for the Northern District of West Virginia (N/WV) Fugitive Apprehension Team was conducting an investigation to locate and apprehend a fugitive. As the U.S. Deputy Marshals and additional task force officers entered the targeted residence to apprehend the fugitive, he immediately began shooting at them from behind a closed hallway door.

Deputy U.S. Marshals Hotsinpiller and Frederick and Supervisory Deputy U.S. Marshal Neville were wounded during the flurry of gunfire. While still under gunfire, Deputy U.S. Marshal Hare and a task force officer risked their lives to protect their wounded team members.

Deputy Marshals Hickman, Efaw, Nichols, and additional task force officers, without regard for personal safety, responded from their perimeter positions and entered the residence under continuous gunfire. They were able to return fire while trying to remove the three wounded deputies. Once the assailant was disabled, Deputy U.S. Marshal Hickman immediately began administering CPR and additional first aid to Deputy Hotsinpiller before he was medically airlifted while in critical condition.

Deputy U.S. Marshals Frederick and Neville required immediate medical treatment and subsequent surgery for their injuries and survived. Unfortunately, Deputy U.S. Marshal Hotsinpiller died as a result of his wounds.

Press Releases