U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor (MOV)


President and Attorney General honor officers with Medal of Valor
Read about the officers whose brave actions were honored at the White House when President Trump and Attorney General Sessions awarded each officer with the Medal of Valor, the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer.

9/11 Heroes Medal of Valor Act of 2017
On November 3, 2018, the President signed into law the "9/11 Heroes Medal of Valor Act of 2017," Public Law 115-276. The Act provides that public safety officers who participated in the September 11, 2001 response and died as a result of a World Trade Center (WTC)-related health condition are eligible for the 9/11 Heroes Medal of Valor. BJA is honored to administer this Program, and to assist the families of these fallen heroes. Please send any inquiries to [email protected].

Learn about the Medal of Valor Recipients
In a White House ceremony on May 22, 2019, President Trump awarded public safety officers with the Medal of Valor, our nation’s highest award for bravery and heroism by a public safety officer. Learn about the recipients and their brave actions.

Visit the Medal of Valor site to view information about the current and past MOV awardees.

Date Created: February 26, 2012