U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Partner Toolkit

Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor


Every year, the Bureau of Justice Assistance accepts nominations for the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor. The medal is awarded annually by the President or Vice President to public safety officers who have exhibited exceptional courage, regardless of personal safety, in the attempt to save or protect human life. A “public safety officer” is a person (living or deceased) who is serving or has served in a public agency, with or without compensation, as a firefighter; law enforcement officer, including a corrections, court, or civil defense officer; or emergency services officer, as determined by the U.S. Attorney General.

The nomination period for the 2022-2023 Medal of Valor is from May 31, 2023, to August 7, 2023. All acts of valor that took place between June 1, 2022, and May 31, 2023, are eligible for nomination.

This Partner Toolkit is intended to spread awareness about the Medal of Valor and consists of email and social media content, as well as a graphic that can be leveraged.

Date Modified: August 1, 2023
Date Created: May 31, 2023