U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Partner Toolkit

Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery

Every year, the Bureau of Justice Assistance accepts nominations for the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery (CBOB). This annual award recognizes federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement officers for actions that went above and beyond the call of duty. The nomination period for the 2023 award is from December 15, 2023, to February 15, 2024. All heroic acts performed by law enforcement officers from January 1 through December 31, 2023, are eligible for nomination.

This Partner Toolkit is intended to spread awareness about the CBOB award and consists of email and social media content, as well as graphics that can be leveraged.


Subject: 🎖CBOB Nomination Period Is Now Open

Preheader: Nominate law enforcement heroes for BJA's Congressional Badge of Bravery

Body of message:

The Congressional Badge of Bravery Nomination Period is Open

Every year, the Bureau of Justice Assistance honors law enforcement officers who demonstrate outstanding acts of bravery in the line of duty.

Recognize your outstanding law enforcement officers who have performed acts of bravery in their community by nominating them for the 2023 Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery.

Read the biographies and accomplishments of former award recipients at the federal, state, and local levels for inspiration!

Nominations are due by February 15, 2024.

Nominate Now

Following are Facebook and Twitter posts that can be created to link to the CBOB website:

  • December 2023:
    • 🏅 Exciting News! @DOJBJA’s 2023 Congressional Badge of Bravery nomination period is officially OPEN! 🌟 Do you know a law enforcement officer who has shown exceptional courage and valor?

      Nominate them now for this prestigious honor: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/badgeofbravery
  • January 2024:
    • 🗣 Calling of Police chiefs and Agency heads! The Congressional #BadgeofBravery honors acts of courage by #LawEnforcement.

      Nominate someone who exemplifies bravery, and let's give credit where it's due. 🏅 Learn more: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/badgeofbravery
  • February 2024:
    • ⏳Time is running out! Don’t forget to nominate your deserving law enforcement officers for @DOJBJA’s 2023 Congressional #BadgeofBravery!

      Nominators can submit more than one nomination for the 2023 period. Learn more here: https://bja.ojp.gov/program/badgeofbravery

The following images can be incorporated in your messages and posts:

Date Modified: December 6, 2023
Date Created: January 26, 2021