U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor (MOV)


Nominating Someone to Receive the Medal of Valor

Nominations for the 2019-2020 Medal of Valor were accepted from May 29, 2020, until July 31, 2020. Eligibility for the 2019-2020 Medal of Valor is limited to incidents that took place between June 1, 2019, and May 31, 2020.

To receive the Medal of Valor, public safety officers must be nominated by the chief executive officer of their employing agencies, be recommended by the bipartisan Medal of Valor Review Board, and cited by the Attorney General. PLEASE NOTE: The background of Medal of Valor nominees may be reviewed as part of the selection process.

The National Medal of Valor Office is established within the Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Assistance. The Designated Federal Official for the Medal of Valor is Gregory Joy, BJA.

When the nomination period is open, nominations must be submitted through the online Medal of Valor Application System. Access the Template for the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Application for guidance prior to the submission of an application.

Date Created: February 26, 2012